Why does Picasa Web Albums not show location data from my GPS camera?

Your camera writes GPS geographic coordinates to the metadata of your photos. This location information may be stripped out during upload to the web or might not show due to your privacy settings in your Picasa Web Albums.

First make sure that there is indeed location data in your picture files. Check your camera settings to make sure that the GPS data is recorded. After importing photos to your computer, right-click on a file name, imageselect Properties. On the Details tab scroll down. GPS data is shown below the Advanced Photo section and above the File section. It should look somewhat like the image on the right.

If you are using Windows Live Photo Gallery to upload your files to your Picasa Web imageAlbums, check the Publish settings. Click the blue File tab, select Options, then click the Publish tab.

Make sure that the “Include all file details except…” option is selected.

Note that any boxes checked means that the information is removed from the file before it is uploaded. So make sure that Location information is not checked.

If you use another program to upload your files, check its settings to make sure that the GPS data is not removed. Many programs remove such data by default to protect the users.

 

Once you have made sure that the information is uploaded, sign in to your Picasa Web Albums. In the upper right click on “Settings” or the little gear imagesymbol (the appearance is different in some browsers), click on Photo settings.

image

On the Settings page, click the Privacy and Permissions tab.

image

On this page you can specify a number of options. To display the location data, click on Automatically map photos if they contain location data so the check mark shows. Click Save changes.

Your photo locations should now be displayed for all photos that contain GPS data.

Warning!

Be extremely careful about showing location or other information that can be used by criminals to bring harm to you or others. Clear GPS and other sensitive metadata from pictures that could be misused before uploading them.

.:.

Is there a way to send SkyDrive albums as slide shows?

Yes, you can send links to existing SkyDrive albums or slide shows at any time. Here is the procedure:image

Sign in to your Windows Live account (live.com).

Go to Your albums.

Select the album you wish to share.

Click Share on the menu bar.image

Click Send a link on the drop-down menu.

This will bring up a window with an address entry box and a message box. Enter the recipients email address and also enter any message that you wish to accompany the link.

The dialog looks like this:

image

You can enter multiple addresses to send the link to any number of recipients.

NOTE: If your album sharing is set to Everyone (public) the recipients will not need to sign in with a Windows Live ID.

If the album is set to one of the other sharing options, the recipient will need to sign in using the email address, the one you use in sending the link, as the Live ID. If the recipient does not have that address set as a Live ID it can be done from the sign in page. 

The recipient receives an email with this type of message:

image

When the recipient clicks View album a browser window is launched and the slide show comes up.

If the slide show was prepared with Windows Live Photo Gallery > Slide show > Share slide show > SkyDrive a movie of the slide show will be uploaded to SkyDrive. This will be a “My movie.wmv” file created by Live Movie Maker. The email link will start the slide show and play it through.

If the link is to an album of individual picture files, the link will start with the first picture. The recipient needs to click the “play” button to play the slide show. See illustration here:

image

.:.