How do I choose the SkyDrive folders to sync with the desktop app?

The SkyDrive desktop app by default syncs, that is, copies to the computer, all folders in SkyDrive. If you do not wish to replicate all folders, you can choose which to sync. Here is how:

  • imageRight-click the SkyDrive icon in the notification area.
  • Click Settings in the small menu.
  • Click the Choose Folders tab
  • Click the Choose Folders button.

The SkyDrive folders will now be displayed with checkboxes in front. Uncheck the folders that you do not want replicated on your computer in the SkyDrive folder.

SkyDrive-sync-05The first time you do this you will see a notice as shown here. It says:

If you stop syncing files or folders, they’ll stay on SkyDrive but won’t be on this PC. If they’re already on this PC, they’ll be deleted.SkyDrive-sync-12

You can select root folder or sub-folders as you like.

  • Make the selections. Checked folders will be synced.
  • Click OK and click OK in the prior dialog.

The changes will be made momentarily.

Here are some screen shots showing the SkyDrive folder before some folders were removed from syncing and after, as well as the – unaffected – online SkyDrive.

SkyDrive-sync-07

SkyDrive-sync-09

SkyDrive-sync-10

.:.

© 2012 Ludwig Keck

LiveWriter-credit-360

About these ads

One thought on “How do I choose the SkyDrive folders to sync with the desktop app?

  1. Pingback: Does the SkyDrive desktop app use disk space? | Ask Ludwig

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s